In the Land of I Am

Recently I listened to a song performed by Jennifer Burnett.  The lyrics affirm what I have been learning through my meditation practice  “I am Wishes Fulfilled”.

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 5.26.40 PM

The lyrics of the song are:

In the Land of I am,
I am more than I have been,
I am more than I will be,
I am all that I am

Powerful and profound in their simplicity.  Especially since I have been listening to the sounds that represent the “I am” mantra in the Wishes Fulfilled Meditation.

In 2012, I feel like I re-connected with the teachings of Dr Wayne Dyer.  I started meditating to his CD that is comprised of the Moses Code tones.  It’s a fascinating process, which I would like to share here.

Utilizing the “I am” mantra, I have been able to reinforce very positive affirmations, such as “I am perfect health”, “I am a creative soul”, “I am happy”, or “I am confident”.  This allows me to express my dreams, desires, wishes to the universe and expect positive things to happen in my life.  It may sound weird and I was a bit skeptical at first, but the positive events that have started to happen over the past 6 months are proof to me that this works.

When I first started meditating, I know I was doing it all wrong.  I used the music as a tool when I was walking outside.  There are two tracks on this CD, each 20 minutes in length.  I questioned how I could possibly find 20 or 40 minutes in my day to meditate.  So I thought, well, you could start by meditating on your Sunday morning walks.  Ant that is exactly what I did.

During my first walk, something started to happen.  Even though I wasn’t still, with my eyes closed, with that careful in / out exhalation of breath,  I started to experience a clarity of sight.  I noticed things that I normally would not.  Birds flying overhead, some watching me from the pasture fences I passed.  The wildflowers had a glow to them.  Looking at Pikes Peak in the distance, it had an other world quality to it….bright, glowing and even more breathtaking than normal.  I experienced a sensation of almost leaving my body.  I felt different.  It was a very surreal experience.  When I finished my walk at the end of 40 minutes, having listened to both 20 minute tracks, I felt rested, invigorated and calm.

At first I wasn’t even doing things right with the “I am” mantra.  I sort of got the mantra, but not really how to do it correctly.  Ok, I know it’s not that hard, but when I finally grasped the concept.  On my breath exhalation I would say things like “I am a problem solver”, “I am creative”, even “I am beautiful”.  The principle is on the exhale, you are telling the universe your desires.  On the inhale of breath, the universe answers those prayers/desires.  All of this takes place in your mind, honestly I wasn’t walking out on a country road saying those things out loud.  Now that would have been interesting in and of itself!

You know it’s one of those things where I always wanted to meditate, but didn’t really have a clue how.  I tried to read a bit about it, but nothing ever seemed to give me the outline of how to go about doing it.  Well, between Dr Dyer and Chopra, I got my answers.

In spite of my rather flawed start at meditation, some things started to happen.  My work was selling better.  I felt better.  My outlook was improved.  New ideas came forward.  It’s a growing process and as with everything, it takes practice.  In November, I started to become more serious about my meditation.  I started the 21 day meditation challenge by Deepak Chopra and that helped me to understand how to meditate better.  I made time for those 20 minutes of quite, still meditation.

My personality is such that sometimes I find things like this to be a bit of mumbo jumbo.  And yes, I felt silly initially.  Once I started to experience the benefits, see positive changes in my life, my thoughts and derive some of the material benefits of telling the world my desires, well, it is not silly to me any more.

By the end of last year, my art jewelry was in another gallery.  I found myself receiving messages from the universe to start writing.  Something I have wanted to do for some time now.  Sure I could sit back and keep saying, “Boy, I’d really like to write”, but if you don’t act on that, you’ll find yourself in the same place…doing nothing and wishing it would happen.

Part of what I want to accomplish this year is to work on my writing.  This blog is part of that practice.  I hope people will find me and be interested in what I write.  If not, that’s ok too because I am doing something about my desire to write….I am writing.  And yes, one of my meditating mantras is “I am a Writer”.

You see, I have found that you have to believe.  Believe in the Universe, Believe in yourself.  Those thoughts alone will bring about a huge shift in your life as Dr Dyer would say.

So when I heard the lyrics of that beautiful song, I realized that I have started living in the land of I am.  Yes I am more than I have been.  Yes I am more than I will be.  I am all that I am.  I know this because it lives inside of me, waiting for fulfillment.  I am responsible for my own happiness.  It’s great to start to have that awareness of what lies within me to make me stronger and better than I was.

I will leave you with this.  I Believe. I Believe in Me.  I am all that I am.  I am a Writer.

