Blog-o-Sphere Think Tank ~ What is one thing you really love to do?

PositioningSolderChip
Photo of my hands as I am working in my studio
Photo by Daniel Krucoff

The topic for this month’s Blog-o-Sphere Think Tank post is…..drum roll please…… “What is one thing you really love to do? And why?”

I absolutely, positively LOVE with a capital L-O-V-E working with my hands.  I have ever since I was a little kid.  Coloring. Playing the piano. Typing. Macrame, from basket holders to jewelry. Sewing. Painting. Creating Stained Glass. Wire wrapping. And now Metalsmithing.  I am drawn to anything that involves working with my hands.

The reason for this is I thoroughly enjoy the tactile experiences from the creative processes involved when I am using my hands.  Manual dexterity just feels so good.

A definite side benefit I experience is this wonderful sense of serene tranquility and calm. I’m in a zone where everything is at peace.  It’s wonderful.  I can be so focused on what I’m trying to accomplish that Dan has to find ways to get my attention so I’m not startled.

Yes, working with my hands has always brought about great personal satisfaction.  Sure, there are times when I have my bad days and just have to stop. BUT, I can easily say that 99% of the time, working with my hands is the ultimate  endorphin  releasing experience for me.

Let’s see what my fellow Think Tank bloggers wrote on February’s topic:

Andes Cruz: http://www.andescruz.wordpress.com
Mary Spencer (WATTO DMW) http://www.wattoonline.com/news
Shelagh Blatz: http://designsbyshelagh.com/blog
pencilfox. www.pencilfox.com
Robyn Hawk: http://flyviewsandreviews.blogspot.com/

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

10 thoughts on “Blog-o-Sphere Think Tank ~ What is one thing you really love to do?

  1. I agree 100% about the pleasure derived from working with one’s hands! Even when it involves tiny little cuts from glass, which only occur when I get so enthusiastic about my current project that I forget to practice good safety procedures!

  2. Fantastic! I feel the same way. I always remember really enjoying fixing farm machinery with my Dad, gardening with my Grandparents. Most of the things I really love, revolve around my hands – thanks so much for reminding me!

Comments are closed.