Believe….in yourself

gallery_tryptich_download

Oz The Great and Powerful

Yesterday, Dan & I went to see Disney’s movie, Oz The Great and Powerful.  Ever since we saw the trailer sometime in 2012, we knew it was a movie we would see in the theater rather than waiting for the DVD.  A good friend had seen it on its opening weekend and said that not only was it a great movie, it had some wonderful life lessons, which intrigued me even more.

As we settled into our seats, we saw more and more families arriving with children of all ages.  Of course, that made perfect sense because not only was this a family movie, the original Wizard of Oz with Judy Garland had been a childhood staple for as many generations of children as I can remember.

The required reminders to turn off your cell phones began, followed by previews of coming attractions….Iron Man 3 and Star Trek look pretty darn spectacular by the way….and the movie started.  3D glasses in place we were prepared to be transported to the wonderful world of Disney make believe….and we were.

As the story unfolded, the life lessons became readily apparent.  Believe.  Believe in yourself.  Believe in others.  The classic tale of good vs. evil.  Oz was not even fully aware of the goodness that was in the very core and essence of him because of the life he had been leading as a con man.  Some of his more memorable quotes were:

  • “I don’t want to die, I haven’t accomplished anything yet.”
  • “I don’t want to be a good man, I want to be a great man.”

Yet, he discovered, through belief…faith, that he was more than anyone thought, he was a good man and he did great things.  Glinda had it right …. “You are capable of more than you know…”   That is so true.  It is so important to know and understand that about yourself, you are capable of more than you know.

I think many of us struggle with knowing who we are, what we are meant to be and do, how we want to live our lives.  All we have to do is ask.  Say that prayer.  Ask for that guidance and believe.  Believe that each of us is capable of more than we know.  I have read that we only use 10% of what our brains are capable of doing.  Imagine what we could do, what we could accomplish if we just flexed our brains a bit more and stretched even 1% beyond what we are already doing.  The results would be marvelous.

Oz went beyond that 1%.  The light came on and he knew he could use the talents he had for good.  He could help others.  There weren’t any thoughts about what benefits he might derive so he went out on a limb.  He went beyond his comfort zone and with the help of others, he accomplished something so good, so wonderful that people’s lives were forever changed…including his.

I firmly believe each of us can do this in our own way.  Sure it’s scary.  Yes we feel uncomfortable as we start doing something new and different.  But you know the end results can be spectacular…like fireworks, the stars at night and a radiant sunset.

If I may be so bold, I am willing to challenge myself to believe more in me, what I can do if I just ask and I would like to challenge you to do the same.   I would venture the benefits for each of us, our families and our friends will be well worth the effort.

Oh yes, and while you are at it, treat yourself and others you know to seeing Disney’s Oz The Great and Powerful….  I would be willing to bet you will walk away with more than just a nice time at the movies.

Namaste.

