Do the seasons affect/inspire you? In what way?

This month’s topic for the Blog-o-Sphere Think Tank is: “Do the seasons affect/inspire you? In what way?

Well, I consider myself a geek by day, artist/writer by night.  As I considered this question, I thought…..in all honesty, no, the seasons don’t have any affect on inspiring me….at least none that I’m aware of.

I find that I welcome and look forward to the seasonal changes.  It’s hard for me to pick a favorite season because as each one matures, I find myself enjoying certain aspects of it.

AspenLeaves

Spring.  Symbolizes rebirth, new growth.  I’m always looking forward to growing and changing.  I love to challenge myself by trying new things.  Recently I started a new series in my jewelry work called Express Yourself.  The primary focus of this series has been earrings that are a collage of all types of items.

brassAspenLeaf

However, I decided that each earring set would have an Aspen leaf as one of the components.  The aspens, in our backyard, provided the samples of baby leaves from the branches I pruned last spring.  The new growth providing growth in my work.

MyTorch

Summer.  Warmth, heat, maturity.  I’m really not a fan of the heat.  However, one of the most important tools I use as I create my art jewelry is my torch!  When I first started to work with metal, I quickly discovered how integral torch work was to the works I create.  I matured in my understanding and growth about the medium of metal and could not do what I do without my trusty torch.

FallLeaves

Fall.  Crispness coupled with slight cooling signaling a change is in the air.  The beauty of the leaves changing has always created a sense of awe for me.  In 9th grade science class we learned about chlorophyll and the science of what takes place as the trees prepare for winter.  Many things affect the colors of the leaves as they change into the beautiful warm spectrum that tells us fall is here; tree species, amount of moisture during the summer season, the first frost. I do find it magical and have taken many samples, along with photos, to preserve some of what that season offered.  Sometimes I incorporate these into my designs.  Mainly I want them as a point of reference for future works.

WinterScene

Winter.  Cold, white, quiet.  A time to hibernate and reflect.  I don’t think I every really slow down as much as I would like to during this season.  Holidays tend to cause a flurry of activity (pardon the pun).  Decorating the house, taking down the decorations, preparing a holiday feast either large or small, buying presents, lots of preparations.

Sunset

So you see, I can’t really pinpoint that any one season influences me.  I think they all do in their subtle and not so subtle ways.  After writing all of this, I think it is LIFE, with its ups and downs, the changing seasons, the joys and woes, music, my spirit in tune with the Universe….all of that inspires me.

Now lets see what my fellow Think Tank members have to share on this topic:

Andes Cruz: http://www.andescruz.wordpress.com
Natsuko Hanks: http://jewelrybynatsuko.blogspot.com
Robyn Hawk: http://flyviewsandreviews.blogspot.com
Shelagh Blatz: http://www.designsbyshelagh.com/blog
pencilfox www.pencilfox.com

Namaste

9 thoughts on “Do the seasons affect/inspire you? In what way?

Comments are closed.