Meditative Swimming

pool

Most days, I try to cram too much into a 24 hour period of time.  I guess most of us do with our hectic lives/schedules.   Whenever I have too much on my plate, things become difficult.  The unrealistic, completely self-imposed pressures frustrate me.  Some days I manage my time better than others.  I think that’s fairly normal.  However, I began meditation practice in November of last year.  The benefits of meditation, especially daily meditation, are priceless to me.  As a result, I now make time for daily meditation.  I have found that  through meditative swimming, I can reap the benefits of doing two things at once, physical and mental.  It is a completely freeing process that leaves me refreshed and nourished to take on the rest of the day.

Shortly after I began meditating last year, I discovered that I could meditate while I swam.  In fact, I have found some of my key mentors in this practice, support the idea of meditating while you walk, swim or run.  Yes, I know most think meditation should take place in a specific location that is quiet and free from distractions   However, I like to think that meditating while doing something good for your body is another positive way to enjoy the practice.

Of course, I do find being quiet and still while I meditate to be wonderful, as it does refresh and renew my spirit, mind and energy.  Yet, I must admit I do like mixing it up and being creative with my meditation practice.  I think you have to find what works for you.  I definitely have, because  I got completely hooked when I experienced the full immersion (no pun intended) into a meditative state while swimming.  It is absolutely A M A Z I N G!

My husband and I belong to the YMCA, which gives us access to several pools in our area.  One of my favorites is 25 yards in length, making it more conducive for me to be fully immersed in meditation while swimming.

As I swim laps, I use the “I AM” statements as a positive mantra to feed my mind.  Quieting the mind can be difficult some days.  The internal voices yammering away about so many insignificant things.  But those powerful “I AM‘ mantras I utilize while swimming definitely help to quiet those voices.

I like to use positive affirmations; “I am perfect health”, “I am centered”, “I am happy”, “I am creative”.  Sometimes I include things that I want to reinforce, other times I use things I would like to project and bring into my reality.  Short, succinct statements that flow easily with the freestyle strokes as I swim.  Everything blends in a perfect, rhythmic harmony and before I know it, I am consumed by centering thoughts.

Generally I have 30 minutes on my regular swim days to engage in this practice.  I emerge from the pool, rested and refreshed.

For those of you who practice meditation, I would love to hear your experiences if you would care to share them in the comments.  For those of you who don’t practice meditation, have I peaked your curiosity?  If so, are you ready to try meditation?  Trust me, I think you will find the practice to be rich and rewarding.

Namaste.

