An Unexpected Gift

ErroneousCover

Yesterday, my dear friend Cara gave me an unexpected gift.  The hard cover, first edition of Your Erroneous Zones by Dr. Wayne Dyer.  Oh man.  She knows how much I admire Dr. Dyer and his work.  I have had the good fortune to hear him speak on two separate occasions in the past six months.  Now this….his first book.  Years ago I had a paperback copy of it that I lost through my many moves, but this, well, this is very special.  I feel it has come into my life for a reason….I just know it.

VersionErroneous

I am so touched and so very grateful to Cara for her thoughtfulness and act of kindness.  This wonderful gesture is more than just the gift of a book, more than Cara probably realized when she found the treasure at a local Goodwill store and thought “Kathleen would like this“, because the book symbolizes many things for me and has generated a positive storm of ideas.

Last November, I first heard Dr. Dyer’s story about this book.  How he came to write it.  How it became a best seller….. mainly through his very creative efforts to get it out there and noticed.  For me, the book symbolizes one person’s sheer determination and willprior to the advent of social media, to make its existence known because he knew the information in this book would help people.

As an aspiring writer, this book is something I can look at as a source of motivation to work on my first book and do whatever it takes to make it happen.  If it’s to be it’s up to me….with what I believe is a bit of divine intervention too.  Read Dr. Dyer’s books, hear him speak and you will come to understand that too.

Here’s the really magical thing that this gift, this wonderful gift, is doing for me.  It relates to Dr. Dyer telling his story about the first 3000 copies of the book, of which this is one.  When the book was first published, he would call the publisher asking about how well it was selling.  He said, and I’m paraphrasing here, he became a bit of a pest with his publisher, asking about those book sales on a weekly basis…maybe even twice a week or more!  Well, it got to the point where he actually bought all the copies of the first publication, stored them in his garage and would take some of them to various book stores in New York state to sell on a commission basis.  10 books here, 15 books there.  The next time he called his publisher, to the publisher’s surprise, all of the first edition books had sold out (thanks to Dr. Dyer’s efforts) and they would print the next edition of the book.

Now here’s the magical part.  Because of Cara’s thoughtfulness, I have one of those first 3000 books!  Think about how amazingly great that is!!!  As Dr. Dyer told his story, I envisioned where these books traveled, where they are now.  AND I have one thanks to Cara!  I can’t help but wonder and believe that this book is one he had in his garage and distributed in his rather non-conventional way, just to get his message out to the public.  How freaking awesome is that!  I like to imagine this wonderful little book’s journey from New York to Colorado to find its way to me, someone who truly, truly appreciates and values its worth more than any monetary value.

You may think, “It’s just a book”.  Ah no, it’s more than that.  I believe the Universe is giving me more than a gentle nudge here.  This was more than a coincidence.  It is synchrodestiny at work, at its finest work.  The ebb and flow of the Universe giving guidance.  This is the push for me.  Sit and write.  The words will come.  I know it.  The Universe knows it.  Just do it.

Sometimes we just don’t know what impact a gesture will have on another’s life.  Powerful stuff.  May the Universe speak to you through a friend or even a stranger to guide you on the journey you are meant to take.  I must add yet another heartfelt “Thank you” to my friend Cara, you have done more for me than you will ever know.  Priceless.

Namaste.

