Give Me 5 Minutes

What?  Give me 5 minutes and I can get an amazing amount of things done.  Really, I can, and so can you!

I’d like to let you in on a bit of a secret treasure I’ve discovered in the past couple of weeks about time management.  I’ve been amazed by the productivity and results.  I think you will be too.

Time is one of those precious commodities in life.  If you are like me, you feel like you never have enough of it.  Once it’s gone, it’s gone forever.  We never know how much time we really have, so I don’t want to waste any of it, yet sadly I have.

One of the things I have come to recognize about myself is that I like to work in big chunks of time.  Yet, for the most part, the ability for me to carve out a couple of hours where I can work undisturbed…..well, that happens on a less frequent basis these days.

Instead of waiting for those large segments of time where I can work ‘heads down’ on any given task, why not make the most of any period of time?

Initially I thought I would set a timer on my iPhone for 30 minutes, even and hour, to see how much I could accomplish.  Cleaning and clearing.  Laundry.  Organizing a closet.  Working on a project.  It was great, but, once again, finding 30 – 60 minutes of uninterrupted time was difficult.

Then it occurred to me, what can I do with just 5 minutes?  It seems way too short to do much of anything, doesn’t it?  But it isn’t!  What I discovered was that I could actually do something in those 5 precious minutes of time.  Wonderful!  It’s quite freeing, because I no longer feel like I’m wasting time.  And we all know how easy it is to squander away 5 or 10 minutes when we feel like there’s nothing better to do.  The TV, the internet, playing a game or just vegging….they all ‘eat‘ time.

I’m here to tell you that you can accomplish more than you know in 5 precious little minutes of time.  Don’t waste it on email, surfing the web, Facebook, Twitter or whatever.  Invest yourself in those small increments of time and soon you will have achieved some real clarity in your surroundings…even your life.

What’s great is when those larger chunks of time do come along, you can really savor them because you’ve learned to appreciate the value of time…1 minute….5 minutes….30 minutes or more at a time.  Give it a try, I think you will be surprised by all you can do with those 5 little intervals of 60 seconds.

Namaste.

