Why do I love Spring?

The topic for this month’s Blog-o-Sphere Think Tank relates to our thoughts and feelings about Spring.

I will say that Spring is not my favorite season, yet it holds so much promise that I do love it.  All of the typical commentary about renewal and rebirth apply.

One of my favorite signs of Spring is the blooming of a small flower, the crocus.  I love how these determined little flowers pop through the snow at times, sort of saying “Enough winter!  It’s our turn”.

Living at elevation like we do, past 7,500′, it sometimes feels like Spring will never get here.  But it does and I do enjoy how it is mixed in between wintry blasts.  As we wait for Spring’s arrival, sometimes as early as February, my husband likes to say “It’s almost Spring!”.

Once it is officially Spring, according to the calendar, he will change it to “Last snow!”.  As of Monday 5/12/2014, this was the “last snow”….still waiting on that one…..

IMG_0743
The view from the front of our house of the ‘last snow’ on May 12, 2014

Eventually, inevitably Dan is right and we will have had our last spring snow.

As the weather does warm with Spring’s arrival in the Rockies, trees bud, flowers bloom, animals give birth to their young.  I love all of that and what it represents.  A fresh start, propagation of the species, and rebirth of the earth.

Out where we live, I get to see baby antelope, calves, and even geese.  Every one just as cute as they can be.

For some reason I thought a lot about how special Spring is this year and every year.  Savoring the freshness of things greening up and just enjoying the start of another season.

Now let’s see what my fellow bloggers had to share on this topic:

Andes Cruz: http://www.andescruz.wordpress.com

marie bell    www.pencilfox.com

Kirsten Skiles http://kaskiles.com/studio-updates/

Catherine Witherell   http://happydayart.typepad.com

diana bell: http://www.bellsprings.blogspot.com

Namaste.

 

4 thoughts on “Why do I love Spring?

  1. I love your crocuses and have planted some myself on occasion. I love the surprise they are. That snow knocks me out. It has been a while since I have been around it. Nice post Kathleen!

Comments are closed.