Future Works


Latest Stone Acquisitions

I am a firm believer in investing in quality.  That is one of the reasons that I buy the majority of my stones from Gary B Wilson.  Personally, I think he is one of the top lapidary artists (i.e. stone cutters) in the country.

Those of you who follow my blog know that I am going through a period in my life where I am dealing with the loss of a beloved companion, Bueller.  My dear sister, Lexi, wanted me to have a girls day out and just have some fun.  And so we did.

Yesterday, we went to the Rocky Mountain Bead Society Show at the Denver Merchandise Mart.  Lex had some of her students join us, and I was greeted by some of my artistic friends, Nancy Bonig and Ginny Maiolo.  It turned out to be a “Chicken Soup for my Soul” day.  Thank you Lex.

When the doors opened at 10:00 AM, everyone headed to their favorite vendor.  Gary’s booth was swamped with many of us in search for those treasures that will find their way into our future works.  I found trays with some of my long standing favorites, Willow Creek Jasper, Imperial Jasper, Porcelain Jasper and Tiffany Stone.  This time, I found some new beauties in Burro Creek Jasper that I believe will find their way into my Treescape series.  The picture shows all of those mentioned plus some Mookite and Bloodstone.

Today I’ve been sketching new designs; my future works are starting to come to life.

May all of you have a wonderfully creative day and week.  I’m heading back into the studio to work on some new diversions.

Until next time, aspire to be more as an artist and a person.

4 thoughts on “Future Works

  1. I can just imagine the joy of going through those stones and allowing them to trigger your imagination! I look forward to seeing the works of art that you turn them into. Happy Creating!

    -Don

    • Thanks Don! I had a fun day in the studio yesterday. One piece is almost done and those stones triggered ideas for 2 other designs; one of those is almost done too. Pictures will be coming soon! 🙂

  2. You got some beauties….can’t wait to see them in a work of art! Thanks for opening Frank’s and my eyes to so many possibilities!

    • My pleasure Ginny! You & Frank have such enthusiasm and just a natural love of metalwork. I’m enjoying watching the two of you grow as artists. Looking forward to seeing what the two of you create with your new stones too. 🙂

Comments are closed.